Alumni Feature: Jenn Goethel

Today, I had the exciting privilege of interviewing a fellow graduate of IWU: Jenn Goethel. In the interview, Jenn described her professional journey from college internships to full-time employment. While I did not formally connect with Jenn while we were both in college, I am blessed to now know this rock star intern and employee. Here’s what Jenn had to say when interviewed about her internship and professional development experiences:

Jenn Goethel

IMG_0007

Indiana Wesleyan University Graduate – Spring 2014
Bachelor of Science in Public Relations
Bachelor of Science in Sports Management

Jenn, Can you list your internship and employment history for us?

Internship History:  

  • 2011
    • Assistant Swimming Coach: Terre Haute Torpedoes June 2011 – August 2011
    • Assist. Cheer Coach: Wabash Valley Tumbling and Gymnastics June 2011 – August 2011
  • 2012
    • Intern: Coburn Communications May 2012- August 2012
    •  News Syndication Writer: Row 27 August 2012 – December 2012
    •  News Syndication Writer: SportTechie September 2012 – December 2012
  • 2013
    •  Sports Information Intern: Missouri State Athletic Department June 2013 – August 2013
    • Administrative Intern: The River Fitness Center June 2013 – August 2013
  • 2014
    • Sports Information: Wayne State Athletic Department July 2014 – February 2015

Interview

Jenn conducting the sideline reporting for Wayne State football (2014)

Current Employment:
Campbell Marketing & Communications
Assistant Account Executive – Social Media Manager

As a social media manager I work with around a handful of clients on a daily basis. I create all the content, maintain engagement rates for all social platforms, run daily reports on the accounts ensuring the content is well-received and research trends in the social media world. My clients range from museums, to college prep to my own company. With the diversity of the clients, I’m not ever bored at work!

 How did you learn of your internship sites?

I found my internships mostly online. Internships.com was where I was able to find my NYC internship and other job sites. I got into a crunch a couple of times needing an internship and looked up the emails of people at the company and emailed them with my resume and cover letter. Sometimes you just have to take matters into your own hands! It paid off because half my internships came from that.

Will you share one or two of your most memorable internship experiences?

Learning moment: There’s honestly A LOT of learning moments. Learning how to put together an entire media guide was part of my pride and joy. Another was learning fencing and how to score/write about it as well. That was definitely a major feat.

Why should college students participate in internships?

Internships help you take everything you’ve learned in the classroom and put it in practice. They also allow you to gain skills that you wouldn’t have learned in the classroom. Networking with people in your industry is the biggest take away though. If you do a really good job and maintain that connection it will serve you well when it comes to looking for a job. A former boss of mine liked how well I did as an intern that he created a graduate assistantship position for me after I graduated!

What advice do you have for students that want to get the most out of their internship?

My advice is don’t act like you know it all. Go in with the mindset that you’re there to learn and to also do a lot of the grunt work. ASK QUESTIONS! I can’t stress that enough. You’re not supposed to know the answering to everything. Your boss will appreciate you asking rather than assuming.

How have you learned to integrate your faith in the workplace?

A lot of places it’s not appropriate to talk about your faith. I’ve learned that by the way I handle myself and situations coworkers will know something is different. I will say that all eyes are on you once they figure out you went to a ‘religious’ university. Always take an extra second before saying/doing something you might regret. You never know who you’re influencing.

Thanks, Jenn. It’s time for some “serious” questions …

What is your favorite McConn drink?

Fresh Brew Colombia. I could drink that all day/every day. Oh wait, I did.

What do you miss most about IWU?

The part I miss the most about IWU is the community. Nothing beats the community that you find at IWU. Also, meal swipes. Those are deeply missed in the ‘real world.’

What is your dream job?

My dream job would be to be a Communications Manager/Account Director for a large sports marketing consulting firm. I’d prefer it to be in the south because I really am not a fan of weather below 60 degrees.

Isn’t it awesome how well Jenn’s internships line up with her current position and dream job? Her diverse internship experiences and resulting network of professional contacts contribute to her overall marketability as a working professional today.

So the question is: Have YOU considered completing internships during your undergraduate experience? What’s holding you back? Don’t wait until graduation to start thinking about resumes, networking, and the job search process. The time for professional development is NOW!

The Life Calling and Career offices at Indiana Wesleyan University offers free life coaching, career consulting, resume and cover letter assistance, mock interviews, e-portfolio training, internship search and preparation, and more! Schedule your appointment today!

slcil.office@indwes.edu
765-677-2520
Life Calling and Career suite located on the 2nd level of the Student Center

For more information on internships, please email the IWU Internship Coordinator: tiffany.snyder@indwes.edu and refer to the attachment for assistance in your internship search: Guide to Internships-pic

Tiffany-Snyder headshot

Post by Tiffany Snyder

Leave a comment